Be Prepared

Penn Mutual Sponsors U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner

July 23, 2019

As part of their continued commitment to growing the sport of rugby, through the U.S. Rugby Foundation, Penn Mutual recently announced their sponsorship of the 2019 U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner, recognizing eight outstanding individuals who have made a lasting mark on the game of rugby in the United States.  The dinner, to be held in Glendale, CO on Friday, July 26, is part of a USA Rugby weekend event, highlighted by the Pacific Nations Cup matchup between the United States and Canada.

“We are appreciative of Penn Mutual’s title sponsorship of this year’s Hall of Fame Dinner,” said U.S. Rugby Foundation Chairman, Brad Andrews. “Their support of the CRC, NSCRO, the USA Sevens and last year’s Lost Afternoon Luncheon has had a great impact at a number of levels of rugby in this country. With Penn Mutual’s continuing support, we hope that this year’s Induction Dinner will be our biggest and best one yet.”

The sponsorship of the Hall of Fame Dinner extends Penn Mutual’s commitment to the U.S. Rugby Foundation. Earlier this year, the tandem announced a partnership as part of a multi-year fundraising campaign, to support efforts to develop American rugby at the grassroots level.

Penn Mutual’s executive vice president, Tom Harris, had this to say about the continued partnership.

“Penn Mutual is pleased to support the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and congratulate the class of 2019. Honoring the accomplishments and dedication of these eight individuals is a celebration of their legacy, and highlight the values of the sport of rugby — integrity, respect, loyalty, community. These are the same values that Penn Mutual’s culture has been built on for over 170 years, and values that encourage us to help grow the sport and have a lasting impact on the generations to follow.”

In addition, the first ever Prusmack Award, named after the late A. John Prusmack, the figurehead behind growing the USA Sevens and the Penn Mutual Collegiate Rugby Championship, will be awarded to the top male and female college seven’s players in the country. This year, Lindenwood’s Cristian Rodriguez and Army West Point’s Samantha Sullivan took home the honor.

Congratulations to the 2019 Hall of Fame Class: Vaea Anitoni, Bob Causey, Jen Crawford, John Decker, Luke Gross, Shawn Lipman, J. Tyke Nollman, Don Reordan

Get the Latest News

What Does Life Insurance Have to Do With Rugby?